Interview with author, Boone Brux…

Boone Author Photo-Current

Please welcome the exceptionally talented author, Boone Brux, to A Splash of Romance in Your Life this week…

Boone has lived all over the world, finally settling in the icy region of Alaska, where she writes full time. Always looking for the next adventure, it’s not unusual to find her traversing the remotest parts of the Alaskan bush. No person or escapade is off limits when it comes to weaving real life experiences into her books or blogs.

Boone’s newest project, Chain of Illusions (Bringer and the Bane #3), is scheduled for release in November 2013 from Entangled Publishing.

17343423

Let’s get to know Boone a bit more…

What inspired you to become a writer?

My twins. When they were two, I needed something to block out Dora the Explorer, so I began to write. It was a creative endeavor I could do at home. Of course it took me nine years to write my first book, but I finally got it written.

Are you a plotter or panster?

Plotter, though I used to be a complete pantser. I have a tendency to write series and veer off at the first shiny object, so plotting is a must.

At what age did you write your first novel?

39—I started late, but I don’t think I would have had the discipline to write before that time.

What is the most romantic place you’ve ever been?

Leeds Castle. I was on a European tour with my girlfriend and met this Brad Pitt-looking guy with a voice like velvet. He kissed me in the gardens at Leeds Castle. It was truly a romance novel kiss. The best kiss I’ve ever had. However, we probably should have left the relationship there amongst the roses and wistful memories—if you know what I mean.

Name your favorite real-life hero or fictional hero… How have they influenced your life?

I’m going to get sappy and say my husband. He never complains about anything. If the laundry is backed up he’ll grab a handful and toss it in. If I don’t feel like cooking, he’ll throw something in the oven. He makes me laugh even when I’m angry. Of course he can make me angrier than anybody I know, but that just shows how passionate I am about him.

Name your favorite books from childhood or adulthood.

Bite Me by Christopher Moore. His character, Abbey, is a sixteen year old Goth girl, who has stuck with me for years. She’s hysterical and an amazing character.

What’s the hardest lesson  you’ve learned from your journey as a writer?

That writing the next book really is the best way to build a readership. I spent a lot of time on blog tours, Facebook, networking, but at the end of the day it’s another book the readers want.

Boone’s other major works include…

Shield of Fire

12845132

Kiss of the Betrayer

15103450

and Resurrection

11799857

Thanks for stopping by, Boone. I must say I’ve really enjoyed watching your writing career explode.

You can find more information on Boone Brux and her books at the following sites…

www.boonebrux.com

www.twitter.com/boonebrux

www.facebook.com/#!/BooneBruxAuthor

3 thoughts on “Interview with author, Boone Brux…

  1. Hi Boone! Hi Violetta!
    Such a fun interview. Boone, even when you’re just answering questions your humor shines through. Who’s ever heard of Dora the Explorer being a catalyst to launch a writing career? God bless your twins–that’s all I can say! Can’t wait to keep reading your fabu books!

  2. DeNise says:

    Great Interview! Now I have to go find, ‘Bite Me’. Please note: I didn’t need another book on my TBR pile. Thanks Boone and Violetta

  3. Great interview! Thanks Violetta and Boone!

Leave a Reply

