Interview with Romance Author, Ella Quinn…

I’m excited to present Regency author, Ella Quinn… She’s passionate about romance and many other things! A world traveler and skilled researcher, she has a wonderful life! Let’s get to know her a bit more.

Ella Quinn

Ella Quinn has lived all over the United States, the Pacific, Canada, England, and Europe before finally discovering the Caribbean. She lives in St. Thomas, Virgin Islands with her wonderful husband, three bossy cats, and a loveable Great Dane. Ella loves when friends connect with her.

world

Wow! You’ve lived in so many incredible places. No wonder you have the romance bug.

What inspired you to become a writer?

I’d been thinking about writing something, but I had no idea what, until I got a scene in my head and I wrote it down.

Are you a plotter or panster?

Pantser. I have two post grad degrees and can’t outline for the life of me. Also, when I try to control my characters too much, I have problems writing. It would give me nightmares to try to put it all down before I start to write. I do plot in my head so I sort of know where I’m going. Though occasionally a new character pops up and I have no idea who they are.

At what age did you write your first novel?

Two years ago at age 57.  I really hated creative writing in school. If you would have told me I’d grow up to be an author, I would have said you had the wrong person.

What is the most romantic place you’ve ever been?

Now that’s hard. I’ve been to so many romantic places. It’s a tossup between Paris and being on a boat anchored out in a bay in the Caribbean with my husband.

Name your favorite real-life hero or fictional hero… How have they influenced your life?

I really have to say my husband. He lets me be who I am and that is one of the greatest gifts a person can give another.

Name your favorite books from childhood and adulthood.

When I was child I loved Nancy Drew, and autobiographies of famous women. As an adult, it sort of depends on what stage I was at. However, the authors who have endured through all my changes have been Georgette Heyer, Dorothy Dunnett, and John Le Carre. I’ve got to be on my 3d copies of GH and DD. Fortunately, I had Le Carré in hardback.

What’s the hardest lesson you’ve learned from your journey as a writer?

It’s actually two. To be patient, and let other people do their jobs. I tend to be a go-getter. I want to control what’s going on with my writing, and I want it now. But I’ve had to learn to step back and let both my agent and publisher do what they do best. I’ve also learned that my deadline is not everyone else’s.

Great lessons to remember, Ella!

Ella’s book, THE SEDUCTION OF LADY PHOEBE, will be released on September, 19, 2013

The Seduction of Lad#C46729

LADY PHOEBE STANHOPE, famous for her quick wits, fast horses, and punishing right hook, is afraid of nothing but falling in love. Fleeing a matchmaking attempt with the only man she despises, Phoebe meets a handsome blue-eyed stranger who sends her senses skittering. By the time Phoebe discovers the seductive stranger is the same arrogant troll she sent packing eight years ago, she is halfway to falling in love with him.

LORD MARCUS FINLEY last saw Phoebe striding regally away, as he lay on the floor with a bruised jaw and a rapidly swelling eye. Recently returned from the West Indies, Marcus is determined to earn Phoebe’s love, preferably before she discovers who he is. Determined to have Phoebe for his own, Marcus begins his campaign to gain her forgiveness and seduce her into marriage.

Can Phoebe learn to trust her own heart and Marcus? Or is she destined to remain alone?

Ella has received glowing reviews…

~Lady Phoebe is a heroine Georgette Heyer would adore–plucky, pretty, and well worth the devotion of the dashing Lord Marcus. A marvelous find for Regency romance readers.~

~NYT Bestseller Grace Burrowes ~

Ella Quinn’s The Seduction of Lady Phoebe is a passionate tale full of humor, romance, and poignancy. Quinn writes classic Regency romance at its best!”

~Shana Galen~

More on Ella’s work at…

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/10kE1aI

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/175Kkho

Amazon Germany: http://amzn.to/XIAMG3

B&N: http://bit.ly/XIAT4A

Kensington: http://bit.ly/Z5XEAi

To connect with Ms. Quinn, visit her at…

Website: www.ellaquinnauthor.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/EllaQuinnAuthor

Twitter www.twitter.com/ellaquinnauthor

Blog http://ellaquinnauthor.wordpresscom

Thanks for visiting with us, Ella.

 

23 thoughts on “Interview with Romance Author, Ella Quinn…

  1. I loved what you said about your hubby!

  2. NancyS.Goodman says:

    Lovely interview!! I’ve never read Dorothy Dunnett. Tweeted

  3. Very nice interview ladies. And I just love your cover, Ella. Can’t wait for it to come out.

  4. I can’t imagine that you only just started creative writing 2 years ago and now you’re published! That’s just remarkable! And impressive!

    • Thank you, Christi. I think it’s focus. I had one or two people say I should scrap the book that got me my agent and my contract, The Temptation of Lady Serena. I just had to listen to my gut.

  5. Brenda says:

    Ella, I didn’t care for creative writing in school either. In fact, I hated it. I had a problem getting the thoughts from my head to the paper.
    Great interview.

  6. Great interview and your hubby is definitely a keeper!

  7. Daryl Devore says:

    Love the fact your real life hero is your husband 🙂

    Tweeted

  8. Marie says:

    Ella, I might have to interview you just so I can know what it’s like to live in the Virgin Islands!! Great interview, girlfriend!

  9. Sandra Owens says:

    Ella,
    Congratulations on the near release of The Seduction of Lady Phoebe. I read an excerpt on your page and it sounds really good. I envy you getting to live in the Virgin Islands. Been there and love it.

  10. Lani says:

    Oh, like everyone else here I think it’s so romantic that your husband is your hero!!! I love that, as well as St. Thomas. It’s so beautiful there that I too wanted to live there. It’s so wonderful getting to know authors!!

    I’m eagerly awaiting your book!

  11. karenlopp says:

    Wonderful interview, Ella,

  12. Suzi Love says:

    Great interview. Thanks os much, ladies.

  13. What a wonderful thing you said about your husband. I, too, hated creative writing in school and first drifting toward technical writing before I starting writing fiction. I think it’s different when you’re on your own and there are no limits or boundaries. Best of luck with your book. It’s a wonderful story!

  14. sashacottman says:

    Congratulations on your latest release Ella, I look forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

