Interview with romance author, Cynthia Gail

Summer is upon us, so what better way to spend the season? Sizzling romance with a hot author, Ms. Cynthia Gail, joins us today… Let’s take a closer look at her life and work.

tn

Cynthia lives with her husband in the suburbs of Nashville, Tennessee with their eighteen-year-old son and three dogs. When I’m not working or writing, I can be found with family and friends. I love to bake in the winter, grill in the summer, and on occasion, I sneak away from everyone and curl up with a good book.

Are we invited to the BBQ?

bbq

What inspired you to become a writer?

It’s funny because I never really liked to read when I was younger. But about twelve years ago, I started reading a lot of mysteries. Authors like Mary Higgins Clark, Iris Johansen, Sandra Brown, and Lee Child. Then a publisher gave me a copy of Lisa Kleypas’, Sugar Daddy, and I fell in love with the romance genre. I used to stay up late at night reading. Then one morning I woke up with a story in my head. I ignored it for awhile, but  the story kept getting longer. And I started thinking about what could happen next. Before I knew it, I was staying up late at night writing.

Are you a plotter or panster?

When I wrote my first three books, I was a panster. Then my critique partner and I started meeting to brainstorm ideas. Now I’m a      plotter with a simple 16-point outline system.

At what age did you write your first novel?

I was 39 when that first story popped into my head. I  was 40 before I dared to tell anyone what I was doing.

sun ten

What is the most romantic place you’ve ever been?

I think  romance is just as much about who you’re with than where you’re at. I haven’t had the opportunity to travel very much, but I’ve seen a lot of  great sunsets (once from window of a plane), stood on top of a mountain in Gatlinburg, TN and looked out over the changing leaves, and slow danced to a beautiful song in the middle of my own living room. I think romance is about the simple moments that take your breath away.

Beautiful thought… I couldn’t agree more…

Name your favorite real-life hero or fictional hero… How have they influenced your life?

My dad is my real-life hero. He has faced a lot of adversity in his life, but he’s always handled it with integrity and grace. He’s an extraordinary volunteer who truly loves ministering and giving to others. He’s always been my biggest fan, told me I could be anything and do anything I set my mind to. And all my life he’s repeatedly told me how proud he is of me-even when I’ve failed.

Name your favorite books  from childhood and adulthood.

The only books I remember reading from childhood were the Beverly Cleary books. As an adult, my all time favorite book is, Can You Keep a Secret? By Sophie Kinsella.

What’s your astrological sign? Do you fit the characteristics associated with it?

How? Actually, I’m a split personality, LOL.  Most of the time I’m a Libra. But every once in awhile 9/23 falls under Virgo. I think I fit the Libra in most ways, because I can’t stand for things to be out of balance. Whether it’s a picture on the wall, matching accessories, or designing a marketing piece in PowerPoint. I like balance in my life and I’m a peace-keeper at heart.

What’s the hardest lesson you’ve learned from your journey as a writer?

Patience can be difficult. Becoming an author is like any other career. Beauticians don’t wake up one day and cut/color hair. Mechanics don’t overhaul an engine without extensive training. Authors write, write, and then write some more. We take classes and study the craft. We have to listen to our critique partners and beta readers without getting our feathers ruffled. Writing is a constant learning process that we have to take in stride. But then one day you get that first contract and several months later you see your book in print and your name on the front. And the patience game starts all over  – because you’re new and nobody knows who you are. So you have to learn to market your audience, while finishing your next book, while soliciting agents and publishers for contract number two.

Ms. Gail’s latest release is… Spring’s Surprise

cover

Sara Michaels is single again. And she’s celebrating her thirtieth birthday with a complete spa makeover and a day of boutique shopping with her two best friends. After a ten-month battle for freedom, a long weekend in Nashville, Tennessee is just what she needs to erase the memories of a broken heart.

Jack Tanner is the soon-to-be new partner at Chester & Dorsey Development Firm. Jack’s love life has been on the back burner for years as he’s built a successful career. But the moment he meets Sara, he takes a hard look at his life and his priorities.

Sara steps out of her comfort zone and spends an unforgettable weekend with Jack. She’s never felt so carefree. Until she realizes too late that three days can change everything.

http://amzn.to/14s5pRx

Additional work…

tn2

http://www.amazon.com/Winters-Magic-Hearts-Series-ebook/dp/B009WEFVLI

Connect with Cynthia at…

Website: CynthiaGail.com
Thanks for stopping by, Cynthia. We look forward to reading…

6 thoughts on “Interview with romance author, Cynthia Gail

  1. Cynthia Gail says:

    Thanks so much for having me today, Violetta. Such a pretty name! I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday weekend.

  2. Thanks, Cynthia. We’re in the 60s in Alaska!

  3. It was nice to “meet” you, Cynthia. Can’t wait to read the book.

  4. karenlopp says:

    Hi Cindy, loved the interview.

  5. Carole Brown says:

    Loved the questions, Catherine! And Cindy, your interview was interesting and encouraged me to check out your book! Thanks, both.

  6. Jaye Garland says:

    Hi Cindy, that was a fun look into your early writer’s life, and I loved the part that reminded me that even though we reach a goal, we must still keep pushing onward. Everything is new again. Powerful statement!

Leave a Reply

