Author Catherine Castle is here today!

Good morning readers … please welcome Catherine Castle today. I’ve asked her to try something different. She’s agreed to guest blog and share her unique story on how she became a writer.  Very exciting…

Picture

I’ve always liked to write. English, especially the writing of term papers and essays, was one of my favorite subjects in school. I loved researching a subject and reforming the information into my own words. I wrote a lot of poetry as a teenager, and still do today. My first novel was a love story about a teenage girl and the male movie star she adored. Naturally, in my mind, I was the girl and my favorite TV star of the era was the hero. It was a story of sweet teen puppy love and awful by today’s standards, and probably the standards of yesteryear too. I still have the handwritten pages, bound in one of those paper notebooks we had to cover high school term papers in way back when.

pen

Even though I liked to write, I never really thought about it as a career until around 1977. That’s when I started sending things out to publishing houses. It was mostly poetry back then, and I did manage to get one piece of poetry published, along with a slew of rejections.

In 1990, I wrote a gratis piece of non-fiction for the local weekly newspaper about a new building project our church was doing. When I submitted it to the editor—and they didn’t change a word—I thought, Hey, this is pretty cool! Maybe I am a writer. So I decided that I’d pursue the life of a non-fiction freelancer. Shaking in my boots, I approached the newspaper editor and asked what I needed to do to become a stringer for the paper. She said, “Come see me and we’ll talk about it.” I haven’t looked back since. I realize, now, that writing was probably the career I missed out on in my youth.

I was a freelancer for about fourteen years, working part-time, and during that time I had over 600 articles and numerous photographs published in local newspapers and Christian and secular magazines. Bolstered by my non-fiction writing success, I started pursuing fiction writing during my freelancing days, and around 2004 I began to concentrate solely on fiction.

paper Like most writers, I’ve had my share of rejections on the road to publication. I believe the key to success is never giving up. The right publisher and editor is out there for every book. I’m so grateful that I finally found mine. The Nun and the Narc, currently available as an ebook from Amazon, is my first published book. The book will also be available later form Barnes and Noble, Amazon, and Soul Mate Publishing as an ebook and print version later this year.

Cover

The Nun and the Narc is an inspirational romantic suspense that I hope readers of all faiths and walks of life will enjoy.

Where novice Sister Margaret Mary goes, trouble follows. When she barges into a drug deal the local Mexican drug lord captures her. To escape she must depend on undercover DEA agent Jed Bond. Jed’s attitude toward her is exasperating, but when she finds herself inexplicable attracted to him he becomes more dangerous than the men who have captured them, because he is making her doubt her decision to take her final vows. Escape back to the nunnery is imperative, but life at the convent, if she can still take her final vows, will never be the same.

Nuns shouldn’t look, talk, act, or kiss like Sister Margaret Mary O’Connor—at least that’s what Jed Bond thinks. She hampers his escape plans with her compulsiveness and compassion and in the process makes Jed question his own beliefs. After years of walling up his emotions in an attempt to become the best agent possible, Sister Margaret is crumbling Jed’s defenses and opening his heart. To lure her away from the church would be unforgivable—to lose her unbearable.

Let’s get to know Ms. Castle a bit more…

Besides writing, Catherine Castle loves traveling, singing, and attending theatre. In the winter she loves to quilt and has a lot of UFOs (unfinished objects) in her sewing case. In the summer her favorite place to be is in her garden. She’s passionate about gardening and even won a “Best Hillside Garden” award from the local gardening club.

You can connect with Catherine though her website at http://catherinecastle1.wordpress.com and at her author page on Amazon http://www.amazon.com/author/catherinecastle. To see pictures of her garden, read her poems and blogs, connect with her, and to follow her (no stalking please), stop by her blog at http://catherinecastle1.wordpress.com  or her author page on Amazon http://www.amazon.com/author/catherinecastle.

She’d love to see you there.

Thanks, again, for hosting me today. It’s been great sharing my story with your readers.

Its been a pleasure Catherine. I must say, I absolutely LOVE the book title. Makes me smile every time I see/hear it.

8 thoughts on “Author Catherine Castle is here today!

  1. Two of my favorite ladies in one place! I’m reading The Nun & The Narc right now. I even took it to swimming lessons so while my class of third graders was swimming I was reading “educational” material.

  2. I love how you stuck with writing, Catherine. Your determination has made your dream come true! Can’t wait to read your book from just the title alone.

  3. Determination seems to be the name of the game in writing. I just wish I had realized writing as a calling sooner in my life. Thanks for stopping by, and I’m glad you like the title

  4. Elle Hill says:

    What a lovely and inspirational interview. And I have to admit, your book sounds too intriguing to miss. I’m zipping over to Amazon to buy it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

