Interview with author Katie O’Boyle…

Hello boys and girls, another Alaskan Friday/weekend. That means football and moose hunting. Maybe a steak dinner and a good book, too. Today I’m pleased to introduce a new talent, Ms. Katie O’Boyle.

Katie O'Boyle

Born in the village known as the Birthplace of Women’s Rights, Katie passionately loves the Finger Lakes in every season. She enjoys lunch with friends on many a lakeside porch, and she cherishes the lakeside porch as a place for intimate sharing, laughter, and inspiration. She is hard at work on book three of the Lakeside Porches romance books and novellas.

Let’s get intimate with Katie…

What inspired you to become a writer?

Two of my teachers encouraged me to write. I was a literature major in college and loved the way good writers played with language. Even more, I admired the ways they used their writing to entertain, educate, and influence readers. I aspired to that long before I wrote my first novel. All of those teachers, professors, authors, and literary critics get credit for inspiring me. I hope it never gets old!

Are you a plotter or panster?

A little of both. My characters have strong voices and definite ideas about their own stories, so “seat-of-my-pants, listen hard” is how I begin writing a novel. Once I develop a good relationship with the hero and heroine, I have to step back and integrate their story with the other characters and themes of Lakeside Porches. That’s where I shift into “get organized” mode and do some serious work making the subplots and details fit with the overall concept of the series and with all that has come before. My blog post “Organizing Book Three of my series” says more about this process.

At what age did you write your first novel?

I think I was 24. I don’t recall its title, and I’ve long since lost the manuscript, but I never forgot it. Friends read it and liked it. A writer I knew suggested a fundamental change to make it more marketable. That helpful writer is, today, both a published author and an editor, and I am finally taking her suggestion. In its maturity, that book is taking on new life as Book Three of Lakeside Porches.

Venice

What is the most romantic place you’ve ever been?

Venice! The diffuse light, the mesmerizing movement of gondolas on the water, the rush of the warm wind off the sea, the bells that chime to their own inner clocks, I could go on all day!

Name your favorite real-life hero or fictional hero… How have they influenced your life?

I meet one or two new heroes every year, so it’s a big collection to choose from! Of them all, Helen Keller tops the list for the courage and determination she showed me in using all her gifts to lead a productive, inspirational life. She set the bar for overcoming obstacles and focusing on what she could do, not what she couldn’t do.

Name your favorite books from childhood and adulthood.

I adored The Secret Garden, and I devoured every Hardy Boy adventure. Today I treasure La’s Orchestra Saves the World (Alexander McCall Smith) and I enjoy everything by Louise Penny and Sally Goldenbaum.

What’s your astrological sign? Do you fit the characteristics associated with it? How?

Oh, baby! Watch out—technically, I’m a Scorpio. In truth, I am not a spiteful, calculating “nasty”; nor am I oversexed or intensely passionate all the time—the characteristics many people associate with Scorpios. Most of the time I’m serene and happy. But when I’m angry or in pain (rheumatoid arthritis, ugh!) I’m just plain crabby. Bottom line: I fit more with the sign of Cancer (The Crab), which I associate with creation and teaching.

What’s the hardest lesson you’ve learned from your journey as a writer?

As a rookie author, I had a tough first editor who disagreed with the beliefs that underlay my story. When the dust settled I wrote a blog entry called “Staying true to your book.” I got a lot of support from my writers groups and my critique partners and my readers. That kept me moving forward.

Lightening Round

Favorite Color: Green

Favorite Actor/Actress: Peter O’Toole

Favorite Movie: Harvey

Favorite century and why?: Right now! I want to see what happens!

Favorite Food: Dark Chocolate

Least favorite vegetable: Eggplant (it’s a texture thing)

First boyfriend/How old?/Why did you like him?: Georgie, I was maybe 10. He made me laugh!

Describe yourself in 5 words: Brainy, creative, compassionate, endlessly curious

That’s really only four Katie! Can you think of another one?

Katie’s latest release is Stepping Up to Love…

Here’s the lovely cover…

Cover-SteppingUpToLove

The Blurb…

When her boss, Joel Cushman, catches her using the spa shower at The Manse, junior accountant and graduating college senior, Manda Doughty, comes clean about the alcoholic drinking that has led her into a disastrous relationship with a predatory professor. Joel, who is also a trustee of the college, is faced with more problems than a beautiful, naked woman in his shower. While he’d rather make love all night with funny, brainy Manda, Joel knows his desire for her has no future if Manda cannot stay sober, grow up, and face her problems. While Manda immerses herself in AA, Joel uncovers harassment and embezzlement that threaten the existence of the college his ancestors founded. Can he fix the problems at the college without exposing Manda to public humiliation? Can Manda clean up her mess and trust the love she feels for Joel? The odds may not be in their favor, but miracles happen for those who are willing to change their lives and open their hearts.

Sounds so wonderful Katie.

Here’s an excerpt…

Halfway through the shampoo, she heard him tap on the frosted glass door and slip some clothes onto the hook in the dressing area. “I owe you, Remy,” she said over the noise of the shower.

“Shhh!” he commanded. “I know nothing!” he declared and hummed his way back through the locker room.
The bubble of laughter that rose in Manda turned into a flood of tears. She let them flow and mix with the hundred-degree simulated rainwater pouring from the ceiling.
Finally warm, and thoroughly clean, shampooed, conditioned, citrus-scented, and far less achy than she’d been, Manda turned off the water and drew back the linen curtain dividing the shower stall from the dressing area, and screamed. Standing at the glass door was the big boss. Remy’s boss. Her boss’s boss. She wasn’t sure, but Joel Cushman was probably everybody’s boss.
“Geez, Joel, I thought you were a pervert!” she yelled at him. I can’t believe I just called Mr. Cushman “Joel.” I am in so much trouble here.
“Manda? What—?” His voice cracked like an adolescent.
Manda stifled a laugh. His eyes were drinking in her body as though he couldn’t believe what she’d been hiding under her baggy clothes. Drink your fill now, Joel, because I am off men for life.
“I thought you were a criminal. What are you doing in the shower at seven fifteen in the morning? And stop batting that curtain around.”
Manda tried desperately to grab hold of the linen shower curtain, flapping this way and that in the current created by the open door.
“Do you mind?” she scolded him.
Giving up on the curtain, she crossed her arms and turned her back on him. He probably likes that view, too. “Could you hand me a towel, please, or get out of here?” Why am I yelling at the boss? Seriously dumb, Manda.
He was silent now, which was worse. What is he doing, standing there, looking at me? Panic overtook anger, and she turned back to look at him.
He had dropped the admiring once-over, and she saw he was taking a second look at her purpling bruises. Silently, he handed her a towel from the top of the stack and looked her in the eye. Manda wondered if he could read the shame and fear clouding her vision.
Joel cleared his throat and ordered, “In my office. Five minutes. Dressed.”  His jaw was hard as he turned on his heel.
 
Connect with  Katie
Facebook: /katie.oboyle.author/
Twitter: @TompkinsFalls

 

Buy link:
Thanks for sharing your story with us today Katie.

6 thoughts on “Interview with author Katie O’Boyle…

  1. Stopped by. Tried to comment but it wouldn’t let me.

     Collette Cameron   http://collettecameron.com   

    ________________________________

  2. C.D. Hersh says:

    You devoured every Hardy Boy adventure? Not many girls liked that series. One of my favorites, too. 🙂 Donald.

Leave a Reply

