Interview with historical romance author Dana D’Angelo…

Greetings boys and girls… I’m always thrilled to discover talented authors. This week is no exception as we spotlight the delightful Dana D’Angelo and her newest release One True Knight…

THIST_BOUGH_76102920_std

Dana is the only girl from a family of nine children. As a teenager, there was a constant battle for the TV remote, which she lost, so she was forced to find her amusement in books. It wasn’t until she was married with two young kids that she decided to take a stab at writing her own historical romance books. She is intrigued with the idea of writing romance novels that could bring hours of enjoyment to readers, help them escape from reality, and perhaps remind them how sweet love is and should be. These are the things that she enjoys as a reader, and these are the things that she wants to give back as a writer.

books

It’s great to be on your blog today, Violetta. Thanks for having me!

Wouldn’t miss the opportunity to host you, Dana. We love historical romance here!

What inspired you to become a writer?

I actually wanted to be an artist, but my high school art teacher convinced me not to go this direction because the competition was too fierce. I racked my brain trying to think of what else I  to become. Since English was my second best subject, I finally decided that I should pursue a career in writing. In retrospect, this was a good choice because I’m still able to express myself creatively, and instead of using brush strokes to capture a scene, I can use words to paint the images from my mind.

Are you a plotter or panster?

I do a bit of both. I have a basic outline for my stories and I let my characters take over.

At what age did you write your first novel?

The first time I wrote an entire novel was when I was 37 years old. I didn’t have any problems starting books but it was difficult to finish. Then, since my youngest child was nearing school age, I found that I didn’t want to go back to work. I decided to give writing one more shot before getting a 9-5 job.

What is the most romantic place you’ve ever been?

Hawaii, although I might be a bit biased since I got married there.

Name your favorite real-life or fictional hero… How have they influenced your life?

Even though I’ve never met the man, I have to say Steven King is my real-life hero. Yes, I’ll admit that tales by Steven King are the furthest thing from romance, but I just find his stories very intelligent, thought provoking, and suspenseful. Reading the things he produces makes me want to push the boundaries in my own writing.

Name your favorite books from childhood and adulthood.

In childhood, my favorite book was Anne of Green Gables, by L.M. Montgomery. And in adulthood, I love all books by Julia Quinn. I don’t think I’m the only one who thinks she has great wit and style.

What’s your astrological sign? Do you fit the characteristics associated with it? How?

I’m a Taurus. And yes, I do find that the characteristics associated with this sign fit me. My outlook on life is very practical. I’m rather stubborn and determined when I put my mind to something. And it’s also true that I enjoy my creature comforts like good food and music.

What’s the hardest lesson you’ve learned from your journey as a writer?

The hardest lesson I learned from my writer’s journey is going beyond my fears. It actually took me two and half years to complete my first book, One True Knight. It wasn’t the inability to write; it was the fear of the unknown that slowed me down. Once I completed the book, it felt as if I was crossing over the finish line with my hands in the air. Of course other fears crop up, but now I know that I just need to get through them and claim the rewards that are waiting on the other side.

Lightening Round

Favorite Color: Red

Favorite Actor/Actress: Actor: Hugh Jackman, Actress: Drew Barrymore

Favorite Movie: The Princess Bride

Favorite century and why?: 14th and 19th centuries because I find the people in these eras fascinating.

Favorite Food: Indian cuisine

Least favorite vegetable: Kale

First boyfriend/How old?/Why did you like him?:

I was picky and introverted so I had my first and only boyfriend at 22, a guy who I later married. I liked him because he had all the qualities that I was looking for in a man. (I actually had a list lol)

Describe yourself in 5 words:

Creative, imaginative, optimistic, happy, and determined

Here’s the sexy book cover for One True Knight…

One_True_Knight-cover-208x320

The blurb…

When the beautiful, yet feisty, Rowena de Belleville discovers her father’s plan to remarry, she fears the worst and flees her home — only to be thrust into the arms of a stranger.

Desperate to hide her identity from her pursuers, she embraces the dark stranger. But her reckless act backfires as it awakens a passion buried deep within her soul, while igniting the fuse of her mysterious benefactor.

Unable to escape destiny, their paths cross yet again. This time she learns the handsome man is Jonathan d’Abelard – the Iron Hawk, a legendary knight feared by all save one faceless killer bent on making his life a living hell…

Will her chance encounter draw them together, or ensnare her in a dangerous game of seduction, feverish desire and vengeance?

Sounds thrilling Dana–I’m on it. This is my next read!

The excerpt…

“What is it?” she asked, searching his face. Her eyes settled on the long scar that ran down the length of his face. It made him look fierce, although the expression on his rugged face had turned gentle, a smile playing on his lips.

Rowena didn’t think that he was handsome at first, but now, up close, she had to admit that he had a rather pleasant face. She shifted uncomfortably on her feet, and became conscious of the strength and power that exuded from his body. And she was all too aware of the virile male that kissed her once in town and many more times in her dreams.

He stood close to her now and with one hand, he reached out to caress her soft skin. “I often lie awake at night thinking about our encounter in town,” he confessed.

She startled at his touch. “Sir Jonathan,” she managed in what she hoped was a brisk tone. She took a step back. “We are no longer in town. That game is finished. I told you that I do not wish to speak of that encounter ever again.”

“I know there’s something warm and yielding inside,” he continued as if he didn’t hear her. He traced a long finger along her jaw, leaving a burning trail of erotic heat in its wake. “I want to experience it again,” he said softly, undeterred by her icy tone.

“’Tis a mistake for us to be alone,” she said, although she remained as still as if the slippers she wore somehow had sprouted roots and became embedded into the ground.

He took her chin between his thumb and forefinger, stroking, caressing her silken skin until it tingled with awareness.

She felt her mouth go dry and she touched her tongue to her lips to moisten them.

“The only way to know for sure that I didn’t dream everything up is to taste your sweetness again,” he said, staring at her lips. “Will you indulge me?”

Unsettled, alarmed and bewildered, Rowena took another step back. “I — I think I should leave,” she said, acutely aware of the intense heat radiating from his powerful body.

“Nay,” he said. He took her by the hand, drawing her closer to him until she was an arm’s length away. “I would like it very much if you stayed.”

Where to find it…

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00957UAMM

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/243630?ref=danadangelo

Where to catch up with Ms. D’Angelo…

Website: www.dana-dangelo.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dana-DAngelo-Historical-Romance-Author/1401184486768369

Thanks Dana!

4 thoughts on “Interview with historical romance author Dana D’Angelo…

  1. Amber Dane says:

    Nice interview, Dana. Love your covers.Much continued success to you 🙂

  2. darynrc says:

    Really enjoyed the interview!! I will be reading Fallen Knight this weekend! I absolutely loved, One True Knight!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

