Interview and book spotlight with romance author Holly Bush…

Happy Monday boys and girls. I’m thrilled to introduce a wonderful storyteller, Ms. Holly Bush…

 

100 x 60

 

What inspired you to become a writer?

I don’t know if inspired is the right word to describe why I first put pen to paper, or rather fingers to key board. I had a vision of a woman staring out the window as she rode a train. I couldn’t stop thinking about her! Who was she? Where was she going? Eventually I gave in and started writing Olive Wilkins’ story which became Romancing Olive. All of my books have begun as a picture in my head that won’t go away.

Are you a plotter or panster?

I’m definitely a seat-of-my-pants writer. Odd, because I’m a bit of an obsessive and organized planner in just about every other aspect of my life. Just ask the husband! But with my books, I just watch the movie playing in my head and try to capture what’s happening. My characters have stories to tell and I let them.

Name your favorite books from childhood and adulthood.

I grew up in a home with a book shelf, a full book shelf, in every room. I think I started with Nancy Drews and Heidi – that’s my earliest recollection anyway. Then I got hooked on history in my early teens reading Agnes Sligh Turnbull and John Jakes. Which lead me to historical romance as an adult. Some of my favorite authors are Marsha Canham, Maggie Osborne, Lorraine Heath, and my all-time favorite, Mary Balogh. I like mysteries too, and am a fan of Lee Child. My DIK is To Kill a Mockingbird.

What’s the hardest lesson you’ve learned from your journey as a writer?

Patience. None of this comes quickly. Not the story, nor the polish, or the marketing, or anything else associated with getting your stories into the hands of readers. It is a very hard lesson to learn.

Here’s the lovely cover for Ms. Bush’s latest release, Charming the Duke…

 

holly

 

The blurb…

1849 . . . Matilda Sheldon, the middle daughter of the sixth Earl of Bisset, has never been interested in the fashionable society events that so preoccupy her parents and siblings. Her loving, albeit, daft family cannot understand why.  But Matilda has little use for silly rules and dramas. She would rather occupy her time with a worthwhile cause such as opening The Sheldon Home for Orphans, much to the chagrin of her mother and grandmother. They are quite certain a venture of this nature will discourage suitors. Matilda is quite certain that if suitors are discouraged it is because she is clever, plain, a bit clumsy, and inevitably compared to her beautiful sisters.

 

The Duke of Thornsby is in tight spot. After receiving the title on the death of his father, he discovers the inheritance is to be gifted elsewhere if he does not marry before his thirtieth birthday. Unfortunately, our man-about-town is embroiled in a scandal, not of his own making, and the marriage mamas won’t let any eligible misses anywhere near him. What’s a Duke to do? Get invited to a house party hosted by the notoriously absent-minded Earl of Bisset, who just happens to be Papa to some young ladies of marriageable age!

 

Thornsby finds himself fascinated, not with the two Sheldon debutantes actively seeking a husband, but rather with the ‘brown wren’ he first mistakes for a servant. Matilda is counting the hours until the house party ends when the necessity of conversing with the guests will be over, and ridiculously handsome men go far away. Can a worldly Duke convince a sensible girl to accept his court? Find out in Charming the Duke.

 

A teaser…

“Don’t presume to know what is in my mind,” Thornsby said and grabbed Matilda’s bare shoulders.

The moment was charged with sparks, shooting through the air, connecting him to her. Matilda felt, well, she didn’t know what she felt. Fluttery and female. Angry. Aware. The touch of his fingertips drifted down her arms leaving her hands numb. Her voice came out barely above a whisper.

“What is on your mind then?” she asked.

“I’m thinking of kissing you, Miss Sheldon.”

Matilda batted her lashes. “Is it the dress?”

Thornsby touched his lips to hers. A feather’s touch. He inched back to gaze over her face. “I don’t know. But I don’t think so.”

His breath was warm on her cheeks. She’d never been this close to a man before. She could see the lines around his mouth and the bristle of his beard. He touched his lips to hers again.

“What do you imagine it is?” Matilda whispered into his mouth.

Thornsby slipped his hand around her waist and pulled her close. He tilted her head up with his finger. “I haven’t a clue,” he said. Then he kissed her. Really kissed her.

 

Where to connect with Holly…

http://www.hollybushbooks.com/

 

Where to find the book…

http://www.amazon.com/Charming-Duke-Holly-Bush-ebook/dp/B00J44MRA4/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1395677632&sr=1-1&keywords=charming+the+duke

 

Thanks so much for stopping by today Holly.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Interview and book spotlight with romance author Holly Bush…

  1. Thanks for having me, Violetta!

Leave a Reply

