Book Release/Interview, The Earl’s Enticement, by romance author Collette Cameron…

Once again, lets welcome the super talented Collette Cameron. She’s here to showcase her latest release (my favorite of the pack), The Earl’s Enticement, which I give a big five stars.

 

Collette Cameron

Award winning, Amazon best-selling, and multi-published historical romance author, Collette Cameron, has a BS in Liberal Studies and a Master’s in Teaching. A Pacific Northwest Native, Collette’s been married for thirty years, has three amazing adult children, and five dachshunds. Collette loves a good joke, inspirational quotes, flowers, the beach, trivia, birds, shabby chic, and Cadbury Chocolate. You’ll always find dogs, birds, quirky—sometimes naughty—humor, and a dash of inspiration in her novels. Her motto for life? You can’t have too much chocolate, too many hugs, or too many flowers. She’s thinking about adding shoes to that list.

 

Tell us a little about your background—where you grew up—and your career.

I grew up in a small town along the northern Oregon coast. I’ve lived in small towns my entire life, though Portland is less than half an hour away from where I live now.

By day, I’m a substitute teacher who takes on long-term sub jobs. I’m finishing up teaching in a third grade classroom for the third year in a row. This is my last year doing that. Next year I’m severely limiting my substituting because I have three books, a novella, and an anthology to write.

Three of those are due by September. Gads!

Who are your favorite romance authors?

There are so many, but I’ve discovered some new authors over the past couple of years whose writing I really enjoy. Delilah Marvelle, Amylynn Bright, Christi Caldwell, Lauren Smith . . . I’m trying to remember all of them.

They’re rather like a box of wonderful chocolates, (nuts and chews, no creams) and the one I’m currently reading is my favorite, at least for the few hours I get to enjoy their book.

Give us some background on your historical series… What inspired the characters? Name your favorite couple in your books.

The Castle Brides Series originated with Highlander’s Hope, a Regency-Scottish historical. I had a vision of a scene between Ewan and Yvette that played out much like a movie in my head. I wondered if I could write and entire book around that scene. I did. I also chose to introduce a large cast of characters because I knew I wanted to write several books based on the secondary characters as well as ones I’d introduce in later books.

The Viscount’s Vow started bugging me to get written before I had finished Highlander’s Hope. Though my heroine is part Roma, she’s also Yvette’s cousin. The story actually takes place a couple years prior to Highlander’s Hope, but since I didn’t know that when I started writing HH, The Viscount’s Vow ended up being the second book in the series. I had a cousin I was very close to who died when she was forty, and I wanted to share the closeness of my relationship with her via Yvette and Vangie’s relationship.

Then, we have The Earl’s Enticement. The minute I put Adaira and Roark on the page together, they started nagging me to write their tale. I think they are my favorite couple so far.

Actually, in the Castle Brides Series they are my favorite couple, but in my new series, The Highland Heather Romancing a Scot Series, my hero, Flynn, (you get to meet him in The Viscount’s Vow and The Earl’s Enticement) and his sweetie, Angelina, are my all-time favorite couple. Their book, Triumph and Treasure, is done, and I’m well into the next book.

It’s a six book series, so my favorite couple could change. J

Do you have a favorite quote from your books?

“She strove for poised composure, despite feeling like a powerless pawn in a despicable game of human chess, played for the amusement of those who enjoyed tragic endings at the expense of someone else’s happiness—no—their very existence.” ~Highlander’s Hope

 

THIST_BOUGH_76102920_std

 

What’s your favorite romantic movie?

Titanic, though I could only watch it once. It was too emotionally heart-rending. And I confess, I do enjoy almost all of Jane Austen’s books that have been made into movies.

What’s the most romantic era/setting for romance books?

Well, of course I’m partial to anything in England from medieval to Victorian, but I also love Scottish Highlander settings, and Vikings just about anywhere aren’t to terribly bad either.

I even enjoy a good colonial or historical western. Oh, and pirates. I Love pirates!

If you could meet any author, who would it be?

I’d love to meet either Emily Bronte or Louisa May Alcott. They way those two women wove words together . . . amazing!

What questions would you ask?

How the heck did they write with a quill? Messy business that.

Also, both were prolific writers. Where did they find the time? What type of lighting did they use? Paper was extremely expensive. Did they submit the original draft of their work, or did they recopy it?

Were their fingers stained with ink?

Any general words of wisdom you’d like to share?

I’m supposed to say something profound or pithy here, aren’t I? Hmm.

Well, I read a phrase recently that has stuck with me. It was something along the lines of: Working hard for something we don’t care about is called stress, but passion is working hard for something we care about.

It really brought to the forefront which things cause stress in my life and which I can work my tail off for (like writing) and I’m not stressed at all. Well, the marketing-promo part is stressful, because I’d rather be creating another story to share with my readers.

 

Love the phrase–I agree, it’s all about the passion, Collette…

Now let’s unveil that beautiful cover…

 

 Earl's

 

The blurb…

She won’t be tamed.

A fiery, unconventional Scot, Adaira Ferguson wears breeches, swears, and has no more desire to marry than she does to follow society’s dictates of appropriate behavior. She trusts no man with the secret she desperately protects.

He can’t forget.

Haunted by his past, Roark, the Earl of Clarendon, rigidly adheres to propriety, holding himself and those around him to the highest standards, no matter the cost. Betrayed once, he’s guarded and leery of all women.

Mistaking Roark for a known spy, Adaira imprisons him. Infuriated, he vows vengeance. Realizing her error, she’s appalled and releases him, but he’s not satisfied with his freedom. Roark is determined to transform Adaira from an ill-mannered hoyden to a lady of refinement.

He succeeds only to discover, he preferred the free-spirited Scottish lass who first captured his heart.

 

The excerpt…

Casting one last look over her shoulder, she opened the heavy door. She deftly nudged the bulky bundle onto the landing with her foot. With the buckets looped over one arm, she made quick work of lighting the lantern. Then, she shoved her way through the partially open doorway. Seldom used hinges squeaked and groaned in protest. She swallowed.

Had no one opened it since . . .?

Grimacing, she laid a shaky hand across her knotted middle. Possibly not.

She edged the thick wooden slab shut. It closed with a portentous thunk. One hand on the cold, stone wall for balance, she turned and peered into the blackness. The heavy air settled around her, its cool dampness thick and suffocating. For a moment, she couldn’t breathe. Adaira closed her eyes, fighting to draw air into her lungs.

The lamp sputtered and hissed. Her eyes flew open. Her heart thudded loudly in her ears.

Please, don’t go out.

The flickering stopped. The weak flame leaped to life. The orangey-red fought against its glass constraints before yielding to the inevitable. Adaira’s nose twitched at the acrid smell of burning oil.

She’d not be surprised if bats weren’t hanging by their horrid little curled toes on the beams far above her head. She cast a hurried glance upward. Nothing. Thank God. Rats and mice she tolerated. But bats? No. Not since she’d hidden in a cave when she was eight and disturbed a colony of the little flying devils.

Her gaze raked the stairwell once more. Blast, but it was black as the Earl of Hell’s waistcoat.

There was a time when the darkness hadn’t bothered her. Back then, she used to visit the lower chambers regularly. Well, truth to tell, she’d sneaked into them to avoid her lessons from the time she was twelve until four years ago.

 

How exciting, Collette…

 

Where to find Ms. Cameron…

 

Website     Blue Rose Romance Blog   Twitter   Facebook

 

Where to find the book…

http://amzn.com/B00KLO64

 

Thanks Collette, looking forward to your next project.

 

4 thoughts on “Book Release/Interview, The Earl’s Enticement, by romance author Collette Cameron…

  1. Emelle Gamble says:

    Congratulations on the new release, Collette. You nailed it…passion is what keeps an author writing, and the rest of the required tasks in life are the stressors! I really enjoyed The Vicount’s Vow and am looking forward to your Earl.

  2. Three books due by September? You must write fast, girl. Good luck with your endeavors.

  3. Good morning Violetta! Thanks for hosting me again.

Leave a Reply

