Interview and book spotlight with romance author Regan Walker…

Always sophisticated and romantic, Regan Walker’s stories are wonderful. I’m thrilled to welcome Ms. Walker today and feature her latest release, The Red Wolf’s Prize

Regan Walker profile pic 2014

Bestselling author Regan Walker loved to write stories as a child, particularly those about adventure-loving girls, but by the time she got to college more serious pursuits took priority. One of her professors encouraged her to pursue the profession of law, which she did. Years of serving clients in private practice and several stints in high levels of government gave her a love of international travel and a feel for the demands of the “Crown” on its subjects. Hence her romance novels often involve a demanding sovereign who taps his subjects for “special assignments.” In each of her novels, there is always real history and real historic figures.

Regan lives in San Diego with her golden retriever, Link, whom she says inspires her every day to relax and smell the roses.

THIST_BOUGH_76102920_std

What inspired you to become a writer?

My best friend told me I thought like a writer and that I should write historical romance, which had become a recent passion of mine as a reader. So I took up her challenge and the result was my first novel, Racing with the Wind.

Give us some background on your books/series. Share your favorite scene. Who’s your favorite hero/heroine?

Well, my first novels (and the one I’m writing now) are the Agents of the Crown. The trilogy of Regencies (Racing with the Wind, Against the Wind and Wind Raven) feature heroes who are called upon by the Prince Regent for “special assignments.” The prequel I am writing now, To Tame the Wind, is set a generation earlier, in France and England in 1782. They all have real history woven in, real historic figures as characters and strong heroines.

My latest release, The Red Wolf’s Prize is the first medieval I’ve written and the first in a new Medieval Warriors series…all set in the 11th century.

My favorite heroine is probably Tara from Wind Raven, but many of my readers love Serena from The Red Wolf’s Prize.

Any advice for mastering the art of writing a book/series?

I did not set out to write a series when I wrote Racing with the Wind, but my publisher wanted more, so the Agents of the Crown came into being. And then there were the short stories and Christmas novella, The Twelfth Night Wager that included Mary and Hugh from Racing as characters. I think it helps to build a world in the first book and then use it in the others. But make each book able to stand on its own. Nothing is more irritating to a reader to pick up a book that assumes you’ve read all the others.

What’s your personal favorite out of all the novels you’ve penned? Why?

Now that is a hard question. There are things about each I love. Diving into the medieval world was a challenge and so I love The Red Wolf’s Prize. But Regency England and the Caribbean on a schooner were challenges, too. Each one presents a new “world” for the reader—and a new hero to fall in love with.

When did you first realize you were a sensation with readers?

I am not so comfortable that I can say I am a sensation with readers. But I do recall the first 5-star review I got on Racing with the Wind and how I felt. I thought, “Wow…someone out there really liked my story!” I treasure my readers who look forward to my next book and delight in bringing new stories to them.

What’s your most successful marketing strategy?

At the moment, I would say going Indie and putting my book on Amazon for preorder. It seemed to generate a lot of new readers.

What is the most romantic place you’ve ever been?

Hard to choose. Possibly Fiji and the Blue Lagoon Cruise, but then I also love Scotland and its misty Highlands. And you can’t beat a sunset dinner at La Tour d’Argent in Paris with a view of Notre Dame. And duck! Did I mention they serve roast duck? Yum!

Churchill

Name your favorite real-life or fictional hero… How have they influenced your life?

My real life hero for most of my career as a lawyer was Winston Churchill. I still think of him as a real life hero. I named my son after him. He was a man of honor who did more to save the West than any other during WWII. He had amazing foresight into the world, and said some amazing things that have encouraged me to persist and never give up.

Lightening Round

Favorite Color: Red

Favorite Actor/Actress: Right now, I’m loving Sam Heughan as Jamie Fraser in Outlander, but Gerard Butler is a favorite—and he can sing! For an actress, I’d say Cate Blanchett.

Favorite Movie: Pride & Prejudice (the Keira Knightley version)

Favorite century and why?: Possibly the 18th

Favorite Food: French (chicken or fish) with a good wine and cherries jubilee for dessert. Or any gourmet breakfast eaten in a nice hotel while on vacation.

Least favorite vegetable: okra

First boyfriend/How old?/Why did you like him?: I was 12 and he not much older. We collided while each of us was running barefoot in the woods. He gave me a gift the next day. I have never forgotten him.

Describe yourself in 5 words: fearless, independent, loyal, dependable and creative.

I think we all love the Outlander series and characters–Jamie is unforgettable…

Here’s the beautiful cover for The Red Wolf’s Prize

ReganWalker_TheRedWolf'sPrize_600x900

HE WOULD NOT BE DENIED HIS PRIZE…

Sir Renaud de Pierrepont, the Norman knight known as the Red Wolf for the beast he slayed with his bare hands, hoped to gain lands with his sword. A year after the Conquest, King William rewards his favored knight with Talisand, the lands of an English thegn slain at Hastings, and orders him to wed Lady Serena, the heiress that goes with them.

SHE WOULD LOVE HIM AGAINST HER WILL…

Serena wants nothing to do with the fierce warrior to whom she has been unwillingly given, the knight who may have killed her father. When she learns the Red Wolf is coming to claim her, she dyes her flaxen hair brown and flees, disguised as a servant, determined to one day regain her lands. But her escape goes awry and she is brought back to live among her people, though not unnoticed by the new Norman lord.

Deprived of his promised bride, the Red Wolf turns his attention to the comely servant girl hoping to woo her to his bed. But the wench resists, claiming she hates all Normans.

As the passion between them rises, Serena wonders, can she deny the Norman her body? Or her heart?

And the excerpt…

The door opened with no warning knock.

Serena gasped and pulled the cloth over her breasts and belly, keenly aware her legs were bare for anyone to see.

The Red Wolf stepped into the chamber, his piercing gray gaze sliding over her body and coming to rest where her breasts strained against the thin cloth. She could feel the heat of her blush as she looked down to see the drying cloth clinging to her wet skin.

Without saying a word, he turned to the side and took off his belt. Then, with a grunt, he pulled his mail over his head and struggled out of his tunic. She would have offered to help had she not been so scantily clad. Had she not been so shy of his disrobing before her.

When his tunic slid to the floor, she nervously asked, “What do you intend, my lord?”

“I should think that was obvious, my lady. I am claiming my bride.”

“Now?” She gripped the drying cloth more tightly to her still damp body. The long strands of her pale hair, wet from the bath, clung to her skin. No man had ever seen her in such a state.

“Yes, now.” His eyes considered her carefully, and he shook his head. “God knows I’ve left it overlong.”

While still staring at her, he shed his spurs and boots and doffed his linen shirt, leaving his chest bare and his lower body clad in only hosen and braies. He was a beautiful man with his bronze skin and muscled chest. Her eyes were drawn to the white cloth circling his upper arm.

“Your wound,” she said, as she focused on the white bandage around his upper arm. The wound from the arrow he took for Jamie. How could she not love such a man?

“Aye.” He glanced down at the bandage. “My token from the siege at Exeter.”

“Does it pain you?”

His gray eyes narrowed intently. “If you are asking if it will impair my performance in our bed, nay.”

Thanks for sharing your story, Regan…

Where to connect with Ms. Walker and find her book…

Links:

The Red Wolf’s Prize: http://www.amazon.com/Wolfs-Prize-Medieval-Warriors-Book-ebook/dp/B00MRF8WVA

The Red Wolf’s Prize on Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/reganwalker123/the-red-wolfs-prize-by-regan-walker/

Regan’s website: http://www.reganwalkerauthor.com/

Regan’s blog: http://reganromancereview.blogspot.com/

Twitter: @RegansReview (https://twitter.com/RegansReview)

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/regan.walker.104

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6450403.Regan_Walker

12 thoughts on “Interview and book spotlight with romance author Regan Walker…

  1. reganwalker123 says:

    Hi, Violetta! Thanks for having me and the Red Wolf on your blog! I’ll be sure and share it with all the FB folks on I Love Historical Romance where I’m co-hosting today beginning at 11 PST.

  2. mskind81 says:

    Love the comment about getting your first 5☆ review! You live kinda near me lol Thank you for sharing!

    • reganwalker123 says:

      Thanks, mskind. Yeah, a 5-star review does make my day but on my first book it knocked me over. If you live near me then you have nice weather!

  3. carolcork says:

    Thank you for an interesting interview, Violetta and Regan. Regan, I’m adding The Red Wolf’s Prize to my must-read list. I just to know what happens next in this scene!

  4. elizabethellencarter says:

    Regan! You used the word ‘thegn’!

    I’m currently debating with my editor whether it should be ‘theyn’ or ‘thane’!

    You’ve just inspired me to stick to my guns and go with ‘thegn’!

    Your book is on my TBR list.

  5. elizabethellencarter says:

    * er that should be ‘thegn’. Although I did see theyn as another variant…

  6. Liette Bougie says:

    Hi Regan,
    Loved your comment about your first 5-star review. Congrats on that and your other books. I’m sure I will love them and I intend to get at least a couple in the near future (just need to find some money first… disability tends to make me a bit short at the moment – but I’ll get there). 🙂

    • reganwalker123 says:

      Thanks so much Liette for adding my books to your “to read” list. I’m glad to have you on the team, too!

Leave a Reply

