Interview and book spotlight with romance author Samantha Holt…

Howdy boys and girls, I’m honored to finally get the talented Samantha Holt on my blog! So lets get to it, she’s an amazing author…

 

Samantha Holt

 

Samantha lives in a small village in England with her gorgeous twin girls and husband who is a trained bodyguard and ex-soldier. She enjoys writing historical romance involving chivalrous knights, hot highlanders, and cravatted men, but sometimes gets lured away by bad boy bikers, soldiers, and other heroic modern men.

 

What inspired you to become a writer?

It was all a bit accidental. I started writing for myself more than anything—just to get a story out of my head—and it went from there.

Are you a plotter or panster?

I’m a reformed pantser. I used to wing it totally but got very burned out. Sometimes I only a plot a wee bit but I try to force myself to have quite a bit sketched out now. It does make life easier.

At what age did you write your first novel?

27? I think. LOL I always enjoyed English Lit in school and did very well in it but never really considered it for a career for some reason.

Any advice for mastering the art of writing a book/series?

Sit down, write stuff. Honestly, I wish I knew. I write quite a lot and quite rapidly and people think it looks easy but it isn’t. I get burned out quite a lot and have to drag myself through the words sometimes, whereas other times I can zip through a book. I think having support is the biggest thing.

What’s your personal favorite out of all the novels you’ve penned? Why?

At present, it’s Once Upon a Rake which is coming out in November. I find the Victorian era fascinating and it takes place shortly after the Industrial Revolution. The way life was changing so rapidly just makes for such interesting tales.

When did you first realize you were a sensation with readers?

I think very few authors are ‘sensations’. I consider people like E.L. James and J.K. Rowling sensations. Like them or not, they changed the face of reading, as did many authors before them. That said, I have some loyal fans who will buy my books regardless and that still amazes me.

What’s your most successful marketing strategy?

I do a lot of group marketing stuff—joining forces with other authors to do events etc, but I’m not a huge believer in marketing. I do most of it for fun and because I’m contracted to with some publishers, but I think as authors we’ve been told to market, market, market, when sometimes all you can rely on to sell a book is your cover, blurb and being in the right niche at the time.

 

Devon

 

What is the most romantic place you’ve ever been?

I didn’t have a proper honeymoon as my husband was in the army at the time and couldn’t take time off but he did have a few days off shortly before the wedding so we stayed in this tiny, tiny cottage in Devon. It was beautiful.

Name your favorite real-life or fictional hero… How have they influenced your life?

It’s hard to pick one. I admire early female writers like Gaskell and Austen because it must have been hard to make themselves known in such a male-led world.

Name your favorite books from childhood or adulthood.

Green Eggs and Ham was a great one, obviously being Sam-I-am 🙂 and my Dad read me a lot of Terry Pratchett (albeit slightly censored). Now, I read a lot of contemporary romance and listen to Regency stuff a fair bit.

What’s your astrological sign? Do you fit the characteristics associated with it? How?

I’m an Aquarian. I can’t really remember what traits we’re meant to have. I think we’re quite individual and free-thinkers. I might be making that up… I certainly have my own way of thinking of things and though I conform generally, it will be a to a certain point. I’ll always rebel in small ways.

What’s the hardest lesson you’ve learned from your journey as a writer?

That not everyone is nice. I have some dear writer friends but writing is a very selfish job. You get totally lost and it’s hard to pull yourself out—it seems to create some selfish, arrogant people unfortunately—so I tend not to take people at face value anymore. That said, my best friends are writers and they are truly the most wonderful people.

 

Lightening Round

Favorite Color:

Turquiose

Favorite Actor/Actress:

Henry Cavill and Sienna Miller

Favorite Movie:

North and South (actually a BBC series)

Favorite century and why?:

Thirteenth. The history is so varied and exciting but the plague hadn’t killed everyone yet LOL

Favorite Food:

Cake of any kind

Least favorite vegetable:

Most of them

First boyfriend/How old?/Why did you like him?:

I was fourteen. I won’t name him, but he was my best friend at the time.

Describe yourself in 5 words:

Hardworking, loyal, sarcastic, silly, trustworthy (I sound like a dog…)

 

I LOVE dogs, Samantha!

 

The beautiful cover for Tempting His Mistress (releases November 10, 2014)…

 

Samantha Book

 

What could possibly induce a woman to follow in the footsteps of her mother and further sully her reputation by becoming a mistress?

Lilly Claremont is well used to being at the centre of gossip.  Being the illegitimate child of a rich businessman never failed to titillate the gossips and while she cared little about the wagging tongues she never intended to reinforce their opinions of her by ruining herself completely.

But it seems Lord Hawksley is determined to make the fascinating Lilly his mistress…

Evan has no doubt her bold tongue and beautiful body could keep him entertained for some time. Captivated by her, he must find a way to burn through his desire for her. He cannot marry a woman of such social standing so why not make her his mistress?

After the murder of her father, Lilly is searching for answers and they lead her directly to Lord Hawksley. But will they also lead her to his bed…?

 

Where to connect with Samantha…

https://www.facebook.com/samanthaholtromance

http://www.samanthaholt.org.uk/

 

 

3 thoughts on “Interview and book spotlight with romance author Samantha Holt…

  1. Thank you so much for hosting me!

  2. B.J. Scott says:

    great blog post ladies. Your cover is lovely and it is always fun to get to know something about an author 😉 wishing you many sales

  3. awesome blog ladies enjoyed it so much

Leave a Reply

