Interview with bestselling romance author Suzan Tisdale…

I hope everyone had a joyous holiday. Today I’m excited to welcome superstar Suzan Tisdale. There’s so much to admire, including her sense of humor and fabulous stories…

 

Sue

 

In her own words…

I’ve been writing since childhood. Everything from short stories, full length novels, screenplays and even dabbled at poetry. I wrote because I loved it and it was also a means of escaping. I was horribly, painfully introverted. My stories allowed me to be whoever I wanted to be.

My secret dream was to be an author, but I never thought it would be possible. I knew how hard it was to ‘get published’ so I didn’t even bother to submit any of my work to a traditional publishing house.

It was an accidental journey to becoming a full time, published author. I tell people that I didn’t do it on purpose, even though it was a lifelong dream.

It started out as a whim of sorts. I wanted to give my mother a Kindle for her birthday. I thought it would be a hoot if when she turned the Kindle on for the first time, the first book there would be something I had written. And so it began…

 

THIST_BOUGH_76102920_std

Fans love your history, especially how you “fell” into a writing career. My favorite part is how you wanted to gift your mother with a story you wrote before you became an acclaimed author. As a child, did your mother encourage you to write? Read? Pursue creative outlets since you were an introvert? Any other artists in your family?

Thank you for your kind words. Yes, my mother encouraged all of my creative pursuits. She was an artist and an avid reader. Her favorites were Ed McBain and James Patterson. I come from a very long line of artists, musicians, gypsies, teachers, poets, teachers, and scientists, on my mother’s side of the family. However, I was a horribly, painfully shy child. I would create my own little worlds where I wasn’t so afraid, had lots of friends, and could sing!

My Barbie dolls were never housewives or teachers. They were usually spies, disguised as pilots. My Barbies would go undercover (usually in Monte Carlo because that was the most exotic place I knew about), wearing fabulous evening gowns. But strapped to each thigh was a dagger, and in her bejeweled evening bag was a gun. She always got the bad guys and saved the world!

With an unbelievable backlist, stunning reviews, and an incredible career, are any of your own books or characters especially memorable to you?

Again, you are too kind! All of my books are memorable. My most favorite two are Rowan’s Lady and Frederick’s Queen. Lady Arline, from Rowan’s Lady, was modeled after my mother. Everything from her red hair and green eyes, to her feisty personality. Frederick and Aggie, from Frederick’s Queen, are modeled after my Uncle Fred and Aunt Aggie. Just their characters though. Nothing that happened to the fictional Aggie ever happened to my Aunt Aggie! She was raised by very loving, quiet, Norwegian parents!

Romance is such an incredible and exciting genre to write in. However, if you could be a bestseller in any other genre, what would you choose? Why?

I have an entire contemporary mystery/detective series that I’d like to write, probably in 2016. My mother only read mystery novels, never romance, and those were the books I grew up on.

 

castle

 

What is the most romantic place you’ve ever been?

Anywhere with my husband is Romantic! He’s just the absolute best husband. We haven’t travelled too often, but he did take me to Maui for our honeymoon and that was very romantic. And we did spend a weekend in Galena, Illinois last February at a hotel that looked like a castle! It was called the Goldmoor Inn. We even had a fireplace in our suite, a hot tub, king sized bed with a canopy…sigh…I’d definitely go there again!

Name your favorite hero. How have they influenced your life?

That is too difficult a task. My first hero was my Grandpa Dutch. I absolutely adored that man. He looked like John Wayne! Then my Grandpa Maunch and my dad. I also have two awesome brothers, several uncles that I have always looked up to. My husband is a true hero in so many ways and for so many reasons. I wouldn’t be a full-time author if he hadn’t told that one little fib about there not being a cable to link the Kindle to my computer!

Does any new romance author(s) stand out to you right now? What are your favorite books?

Oh my! That is such a hard question to answer! Laurin Wittig and Carmen Caine were the first historical romance authors I ever read so they have been a tremendous influence on me. Julie Garwood is my idol! There really are too many to list and I’m afraid to leave anyone out! I love Tanya Anne Crosby and Kathryn LeVeque. They are very dear, dear friends who are also phenomenal writers.  Ceci Giltenan, Lily Baldwin, all my sisters in the Guardians of Cridhe, (Ceci, Lily, Sue-Ellen Welfonder, Tarah Scott, Kathryn Lynn Davis, and Kate Robbins). I adore each and every one of them. My favorite books are Scottish Historical Romance Novels. True.

Any suggestions for new authors attempting to master the complicated world of marketing?

Ha! I’m the last person to ask about marketing. I don’t market. (When author Laura Howard reads this, I know she will roll her eyes at me!) I do Facebook and a newsletter. That’s about it. The only place I have ever buy advertising is with InD’Tale Magazine. Seriously, you need to ask experts like Liliana Hart and H.M. Ward about marketing.

What’s the hardest lesson you’ve learned from your journey as a writer?

Oh, boy, that is another hard question to answer! I didn’t have a clue what I was doing in the beginning. I’ve learned so much these past three years. Formatting was my biggest problem. Sometimes, it felt like a baptism by fire. Now, I hire that out and don’t worry about it. I also have a professional cover artist and two editors.

Lightening Round:

Favorite Color:  I have several, but I do love yellow.

Favorite Actor/Actress:  Again, too many! John Wayne, Robert Downey Jr, Chris Hemsworth and Daniel Craig. I like Gerard Butler for eye candy! Actresses: Maureen O’Hara, Julia Roberts and Sandra Bullock

Favorite Movie: The Quiet Man, all of the Transformer Movies, all of the Hobbit movies, Most of the Star Trek Movies, and pretty much anything with Dwayne Johnson in it! LOL.

Favorite century and why?: Current! The technology is fabulous. But, if I could go back to 14th Century Scotland and take my coffee, chocolate, and razor blades with me….

 

POT

 

Favorite Food:  The potato. Anyway you want to make it. Mashed, baked, fried, scalloped, I’ll even eat them raw. All vegetables, all fruits, and pasta!

Least favorite vegetable:  Canned spinach and canned beats. Fresh/raw is better.

First boyfriend/How old?/Why did you like him?:  Keith Sipes. He was a cutie! He had braces and black curly hair. He was also my first kiss.

Describe yourself in 5 words: Author, storyteller, cheeky wench. Gregarious. Fearless.

 

Where to connect with Suzan…

http://suzantisdale.com/index.html

 

Where to find her books…

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_7_5?url=search-alias%3Ddigital-text&field-keywords=suzan%20tisdale&sprefix=suzan%2Cdigital-text%2C362

 

Thanks for stopping by today, Suzan.

4 thoughts on “Interview with bestselling romance author Suzan Tisdale…

  1. Love the interview! And I’m so jealous you thought of cheeky wench before I did. I think I’ll use that one in future job interviews 🙂

  2. suzantisdale says:

    Thanks for having me here! I’m sorry I didn’t post sooner. My son, God love him, gave me his cold. Thanks so much!!

  3. Sharon Frizell says:

    great interview cheeky wench

  4. B.J. Scott says:

    Great interview Suzan! Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and are enjoying your weekend!!! Hugs, you cheeky wench! lol

Leave a Reply

